A new (free/recycled) sling/pouch.

Recycled/Upcycled Baby Sling/Wrap
Babywearing is something we started doing with our firsts the minute we walked through the door from the hospital with two tiny newborns, out of necessity mostly. Our collection of baby wearing items grew as the children grew… and because there were two of us baby wearing two babies a whole lot, or one of me baby wearing two babies at once, we’re quite well equiped. Which is lovely, it means we didn’t need anything for this baby. But wait. That’s not that great. Have you seen the wonderful baby wearing carriers out there? But more would be a waste at this point in time, especially financially.

Recycled/Upcycled Baby Sling/Wrap

And so I made myself one this morning, for nothing. seriously, we can’t argue with free, right? I cut 2 t-shirts to make the pouch — and a third to make the extra wrap around me. It took me about 20 minutes this morning before Juliette was even awake. Brilliant.

Recycled/Upcycled Baby Sling/Wrap

Recycled/Upcycled Baby Sling/Wrap

For the pouch, I followed this tutorial.

The idea came to me in the middle of the night while feeding miss Juliette. I sat there trying to think of what fabric I had that I could wrap Juliette in for a quick photo in the morning. All of our receiving blankets have patterns and I wanted simple. And then I thought “hey, I have all those t-shirts I dyed with tea last March for a project that never got done. Those would be ideal.”

which grew into “surely I can make a wrap/sling/pouch with all those t-shirts?” and so first thing this morning, it was completed. Ahhhh those late night thoughts can be productive! (not always, oh not always!!) The concept of this carrier is greatly inspired by the Blue Celery sling — if we had unlimited funds it’s the carrier I’d pick up. It’s like an easier-to-put-on-version-of-the-stretchy-wrap that I soooo love for newborns. That and this ergo. Everytime I see it (in grey) I wish I had one. Except I do have an ergo, therefore there will be no new ergos! (and that’s ok!)

Recycled/Upcycled Baby Sling/Wrap
:: here’s a photo of her wrapped in it!

There just might be one more ring sling in my future though… I have one set of rings left (after having sent two sets to my sister in New Zealand!) and I just might make myself a summer sling. Just one.

2 thoughts on “A new (free/recycled) sling/pouch.

Leave a Reply

