A lazy day skirt for Elizabeth

Elizabeth's new skirt

This is a free pattern from Oliver + S. It’s called lazy day skirt, but really it could easily be called ‘crazy busy day skirt’ since you could accomplish this easily on a crazy busy day. It took me about 5 minutes. Maybe 7. maybe. I did it every lazier than the pattern in that I used some double fold bias tape I had on hand… I must stock up on different colours & widths — it’s so practical!

Elizabeth LOVES it.. And I’m very happy with it, especially because most of her clothes are casual, more casual than I like to see her “out and about” in unless we’re say, heading to the beach. Going to the market or a stroll in town requires a tiny bit more than jersey shorts for example and so I wanted to make her a few skirts & dresses.

The top matches perfectly — and it was a lucky find for 3.94$ on liquidation at Loblaws (a grocery store that also carries stuff and adorably simple affordable children clothes)

Elizabeth's new skirt

Elizabeth's new skirt

Elizabeth's new skirt

Next up for Elizabeth will hopefully be the 2 summer dresses in the Week-end Sewing book by Heather Ross that I’ve finally recieved! (it hung around with Canada Post for a little too long!)

6 thoughts on “A lazy day skirt for Elizabeth

  1. This one’s on my short list of skirt patterns for my dress loving girls. I just made them the elasticized dresses from Heather Ross’ book. I’ll have to post it and I’ll try to remember to come back and tell you when I’ve done it. I used yardage fabric for one and repurposed one of my skirts for the other. So easy and so cute.

Leave a Reply

